Three Gaming Resolutions for 2014

Posted: December 20, 2013 in Current Gaming
Tags: , , ,

January

I’m not good with resolutions. I see no reason to peg the new year as a time to suddenly implement a lifestyle change and, the few times I have done so, it didn’t just seem to go wrong, but seemed to fly in exactly the opposite direction of what I had hoped for. In spite of that, I’ve decided to throw out some gaming resolutions for the new year. At some point, I’ll revisit these and discuss what an abject failure all of them were.

– Stop collecting games –
I’ve known for some time that I really have an issue with buying games just to buy them (I turned into a bit of a collector), but it really jumped out at me a few months ago. Gamestop was having one of their B2G1 sales so I went to see what they had. I found three games that I decided I “needed,” one of which was Enslaved: Odyssey to the West. Haven’t played it yet, but it is actually one I’d wanted for a while (as opposed to being an impulse buy). All was well until I got home to put the game up and found that it was already amongst my gaming collection. I had already previously purchased it and forgotten I had it. As a result, my brother got a free game, and I decided to stop buying games on a whim. What’s even sadder is that I don’t have some gigantic game collection. It’s fairly tame. I should have known it was there (to this day I still can’t recall when I bought that first copy).

My resolution is to limit my gaming purchases to one game at a time, and to have thoroughly researched to be sure that (a) I like the game and (b) I don’t already own it. In reality, I should just stop getting games altogether until I…

– Address my backlog –
The issue above has, as you can imagine, caused my backlog of unplayed games to balloon quite a bit. It isn’t that I don’t want to play them, it’s that I don’t have the free time anymore that I used to have. Also, when a new game comes out that I want to play, if I can get it quickly, it moves right to the front of the pack, pushing back other games. A byproduct of this is that I rarely get to replay a game I really loved. It would be great to play through Batman: Arkham Asylum, Dead Space, or the Metroid Prime Trilogy again (okay, I’ve played through Prime at least four times, but not the sequels), but when I start to do so, I feel guilty for not playing one of my newer games. That’s absurd. Games should be fun, not work, and my backlog is running the risk of making me see a play through as a duty instead of a desire.

My resolution here is to give these games a try. If I like them, then that’s great and I’ll finish them, but if I don’t, I have to be ruthless and sell them off. It’s silly to hold onto games that you know you’ll never touch again.

– Focus on the joy –
This is a two pronged thought. The first prong relates to what I wrote above. Why embrace a game that becomes work simply to play through it? That doesn’t mean that if I don’t like it five minutes in, I should ditch it, but after a few hours, you should know if a game appeals to you or not. Yes, this sounds silly, but I am guilty of slogging through a game just so I could say I finished it. Starfox Adventures comes to mind here. As much as I like Starfox, this one bored me, but I couldn’t bring myself to just stop playing. That makes no sense.

The second, and more important aspect of this is related to my Twitter account and social media in general. I don’t think I have a real problem here, but as the Final Fantasy VII fans will tell you, I can sometimes go negative. Of course, what do they know, they like Final Fantasy VII. Am I right? Seriously though, this is more of a reminder to myself to not be drawn into the more visceral arguments that may erupt. This should be easy to do as I don’t follow anyone that has ever done this. Still, it is easy to get frustrated with a game or an opinion, and at those times, I need to remember that gaming is supposed to be about immersion and fun. It’s easy to forget that at times, especially around new console launches.

So there you go. Three resolutions for this year in gaming for me. Not a huge challenge, and fairly unimportant, but this blog is gaming based, so there you have it.

I suspect this will be my last post of the year, so allow me to say Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to anyone that took the time at some point to read my writings. It’s very appreciated and quite an honor to know that someone would give up time to read my thoughts on a particular topic. Thank you all very much!

Tree

Comments
  1. Kaven says:

    backlogs are a problem for most of us i’m sure.wouldn’t be a bad idea for me to do the same at some point.i’m trying to focus on completing games,and by that i mean,dealing with the temptation of moving to another game in the middle of playing something.i have a real issue with that

Leave a Reply

