The Problem With My Backlog

Posted: January 6, 2014 in Current Gaming
Tags: , , , , ,

Backlog

One of the resolutions I posted in my last blog post was to work on my backlog before purchasing anymore games. Since that post, I’ve gotten over five new games….yeah. In my defense, they were all Christmas gifts. For instance, I received a Kinect for my 360 (I’m so with the current technology) along with four games to go with it. I also received Lego City Undercover and Splatterhouse, and my son got Super Mario 3D World and the new Zelda, both of which I’ll also play. Games are what I like, so I have a tendency to receive them. I’m not complaining in the slightest, as I will play these games and was extremely excited and blessed to get them as gifts, but it does show how easily games can stack up on you. Things may be getting out of hand. Just FYI, my idea of a backlog includes both games I have that I’ve never played as well as games I own that I’ve played, but never completed.

As I said in that previous post, I’ve realized that I’m a bit of a collector of games, and that’s a problem. I will buy games simply to buy them. The mentality that grips me is that I may not find that game again and had better get it while I can. Sometimes it is actually a good thing. For example, I’m extremely happy to have purchased Baldur’s Gate: Dark Alliance on a whim. I love the game and was able to track down the sequel on the Xbox (which I got as part of a B2G2 deal as Xbox games were being phased out, this also lead to me getting Panzer Dragoon and Halo 2, as well as a game I can’t recall right now, but did play through and beat). I also happened upon Ghosthunter for the PS2 like this, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Other times, I end up getting a game like Infinite Undiscovery or Summoner. Both may be fine games, but ultimately didn’t appeal to me (I should really give Summoner another try). The point here being that I just picked them up to pick them up. It wasn’t like they were new or that I was just dying to have them. It was almost like a need.

And I need everything on that wall over there.

And I need everything on that wall over there.

The biggest negative in regards to my backlog is that it has started to make playing games seem like work. I’ve recently been playing The Wonderful 101 for the WiiU (if you have a WiiU, buy this game, you won’t regret it). I completed the final operation last Thursday and have since being replaying some operations to get some collectables, round up more of the Wonderful 100, and just because I really like the game, but, as I’m doing that, I find that I’m feeling guilty for spending time on a game I’ve already finished instead of moving on to something new so I can finish that, mark another one off my list, then move on again. I’m having to remember that playing games is supposed to be joyful, not a burden, yet I’m beginning to burden myself with them.

Gaming should never feel rushed, or like a duty. It’s an escape, something to inspire happiness and distract you from your responsibilities, no different than a good book or a movie. I find that I’m forgetting that more and more, and I need to remind myself of that fact lest something I’ve enjoyed for nearly my entire life could become just another chore, and I really don’t want that to happen.

Comments
  1. Kaven says:

    yeah forgetting to have fun is no good.i’m having mixed feelings about completing a game,cause it involves so much grinding that i feel it’s taking away time for me to enjoy other experiences

Leave a Reply

