Backlog

In keeping with my recent post about my backlog, I felt a Top 8 of games I own but haven’t played (or only played briefly) would be fun to do. This list is based on my anticipation at playing the titles. Keep in mind that I’ve no idea how much I’ll like any of these games, just that I expect to like them, which is why I purchased them. Sadly, I had to narrow down a much larger number just to get to 8. I truly need to thin these out. Also, that picture above is from Google and isn’t actually my collection (I think my collection is smaller).

Sin & Punishment8. Sin & Punishment: Star Successor (Wii)
In all fairness, I have played this one a bit. I believe I left it on Level 3 as I was having trouble with the level boss. Eventually, another game took priority and I just let this one slip. That isn’t to say I didn’t enjoy what I played. I love the difficulty and high action of this title. It’s also one of the games that best shows exactly how inspired the Wii Remote was. After having aimed using the Remote, I can’t imagine going back to using an analog stick on this title (as it’s predecessor did, which I’ve never played).

Defiance7. Legacy of Kain: Defiance (PS2)
I purchased this game because I wanted to complete my Legacy of Kain collection. I’ve completed Blood Omen, Soul Reaver, and Soul Reaver 2. I still haven’t gotten to this one because I can’t bear to start it without completing Blood Omen 2 first. I’ve played some of Blood Omen 2, but it just didn’t pull me in, maybe because it was so soon after playing Soul Reaver. I still own it and intend to give it another try, if only to complete it and get to Defiance so I can finally see what happens with the story of Kain and Raziel at the end of the existing games. Somehow, I’ve been able to avoid spoilers on the story for all of these years.

Ys 76. Ys 7 (PSP)
I love the Ys series and was very happy to see the more recent entries get a port via the PS2 and PSP. I’ve played through all the games available to me (excepting Ys 3 on the Super NES as it is freaking hard, but I’ve even played a decent portion of it and still own it) up to this one. I’m actually intentionally waiting to play this because I know once it’s completed, I’ll not have another entry available to play as I don’t have a Vita and have no expectation of getting one in the near future. This is truly a case of delaying gratification and wanting to have something to anticipate in a game series that I love a great deal.

Pandora's Tower5. Pandora’s Tower (Wii)
I don’t know the actual effect it had, but I love that Operation Rainfall happened. It had to help, at least a bit, in bringing over my favorite Wii game in Xenoblade Chronicles, The Last Story which, by all accounts, is a masterfully designed game, and this title. The Last Story hasn’t interested me very much, but all of the videos and stories I’ve read on Pandora’s Tower made me want this game more and more. I actually had the funds to purchase it not too long after it was released. I wanted it early just in case it’s price went the route of Xenoblade Chronicles, but also because I expected to play it quickly. At the time, I was playing through Bioshock Infinite. Once that was over, I wanted a game that lacked a strong narrative, so avoided this one since the story (what I’ve read of it) was one of the main factors in seeing me purchase the game. From what I’ve seen, this is a relatively short game, so even though it isn’t number one on this list, it may be the one on here I play soon because it will be a nice break from more lengthy games.

Enslaved4. Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (Xbox 360)
Yes, this is the game I accidentally bought twice, which alerted me to the fact that I buy too many games without playing them. I’m kind of surprised that I haven’t yet played through this game. I played the demo and really enjoyed it. The style is perfect for the type of games I enjoy playing. Yet, it has managed to sit on a shelf for some time without being touched. Much like Pandora’s Tower, this strikes me as a game that wouldn’t take me too long to play through, so I suspect I will tackle it in the very near future.

Fallout 33. Fallout 3 (Xbox 360)
Those games above that I said had a relatively short play-through time? That no longer applies for the rest of the games on this list. I did quite a bit of research before purchasing Fallout 3. I’ve never played a Fallout game, so I read up on this game, watched some video reviews, really made an effort to be sure I’d like the game. Everything I saw and read made me believe I would. Even with my disdain for shooters, this title appears to me to be more of an adventure than a shooter, and I love that idea along with the fact that this is an open world game. The problem I’ve had with picking this up is the length. By all accounts, this game can last for well over 100 hours. Not too long ago, I played through Xenoblade Chronicles. Now, I loved every minute, but spent 176 hours in the game. I’m not keen to spend that kind of time in a game again so soon, so this game has been pushed back. I am anxious to play it, but don’t know if I want to be tied to one game for that long right now.

FFXII2. Final Fantasy XII (PS2)
I actually remember the day I bought this game. It was before the launch of the Wii/360/PS3. I was in a Gamestop just looking around and saw the Collector’s Edition version of this game (in the metal/tin case with the DVD) for about $15. I absolutely could not pass that up, so I bought it with full intentions of playing it. Then, well, I just didn’t. There’s no good reason for why I haven’t, frankly. Even the length of the game isn’t anything too excessive (again, going off what I’ve read). I think what happens is that just when I’m ready to pick it up, another game falls into my lap and I go with it instead. It also hurts this title that it’s a PS2 game instead of one on a more current system, which is my own fault for waiting so long to play it.

Star Ocean1. Star Ocean: The Last Hope (Xbox 360)
Most of you probably consider this an odd pick for #1, but this series has fascinated me for a very long time. Right back to its origins on the Super NES (though Japan only at the time). I’ve always wanted to play an entry, but the price for the titles was always just too much for me, until I happened upon The Last Hope. I’ve watched plenty of videos and read a bit on this game and can’t help be think that it’s a game that I would love. Even with the middling to positive reviews, I wanted this title. I can actually identify the main reason I haven’t played this one yet, and that is Xenoblade Chronicles. Just when I was ready to pick this title up to play it, I was able to purchase Xenoblade Chronicles and it immediately took priority. Since finishing that one, as I stated earlier, I’ve been hesitant to start another epic RPG. Still though, I often look at this one on my shelf and know that it’s time is coming soon. I just hope my excitement for it, or for any of these games, is satisfied by my actual enjoyment of the games.

Comments
  1. Ah, the old backlog. I sympathize, for sure. Though, considering how packed with good game yours is, I don’t know if I’d say I feel bad for you, lol. I have quite a few games kicking around that need beating, too.

    • JAVGB says:

      Yeah, there are some pretty good ones in there for me to get to. Kind of the gamer equivalent of complaining that you have too many savings accounts to keep track of.

Leave a Reply

