On a Personal Note…

Posted: August 26, 2014 in Misc

If you’re friends with me on Twitter or follow me here on WordPress, then it has become quite obvious that new posts have been lacking in recent weeks. All too often, people drift away from a social media platform with no explanation. That is not the case here. I’m going nowhere, but did want to drop in and give an update on why I’ve only been on intermittently over the past month or so.

First of all, I initially set a torrid pace for myself with this blog. Once I got rolling, I insisted on doing three blogs per week. Two actual blog posts, along with a Top 8 on Wednesdays. I don’t think that was a negative or anything, but it did force me to burn through quite a few things I wanted to blog about when I started, which left me sometimes grasping for new ideas. I’ve since abandoned that self-imposed schedule and try to do one a week. Also, I’ve been playing the Mega Man X series lately, and that has shifted my focus a bit.

Secondly, and more importantly, I’ve been going through some major changes in my employment. Back in March, I left my job of 5+ years to return to my previous office (where I had worked for the 6 years or so prior). The job I was leaving was going under, and I saw it coming. The opportunity presented itself for me to switch and avoid a possible layoff, so I took it. Unfortunately, due to business falling off quite a bit, I’m being laid off at the end of this week.

The positive side of this is that I had enough notice to start putting something else together, and also that it forced me to make a bold decision that I would have otherwise avoided. With the help of my current employer, I’ve formed a corporation and will be self-employed, as an independent title searcher/abstracter (I’ve six years of experience in it and rather enjoy the research). I loved the idea of being an independent searcher that solicits business from different offices, but was always too nervous to step out on my own. It just seemed far too risky. Now though, I really don’t have very much to lose by doing so.

That ties back into my blog in that I’ve been killing myself the past month getting that ready to launch on 9/2 (damn Labor Day!). Things should calm down a bit over the next couple of weeks and I’ll get back on the horse. The bottom line is, I’m not one of those guys that’s just disappeared. Just think of me as having taken a sabbatical from the blog. 😉

Leave a Reply

